Posted by: Administrator | 14 August, 2006

President with Hannity Colmes Exclusive

25 September 2006, USA

Q: Is Pakistan a real alley in war on terror? We put that question directly to the President of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf in an interview. That’s all going to come straight ahead and much more.

Now, earlier today Allen and I spoke with the President of the Islamic Republic of Pakistan Pervez Musharraf who’s also the author of a brand new book, just out today, “In the Line of Fire”. Mr. President, welcome, thank you so much. And thank you for releasing your book. In the book of what you say the threaten of United States. Richard Armitage saying be prepared to be bombed, be prepared to go back to the stone age. Could you tell us about that conversation?

President: Yes indeed I will, but first of all let me say that Mr. Armitage is a great friend of mine and I have clarified his position in the book that subsequently he became great friend of mine and I really respect him. I cherish my friendship with him. However, I didn’t contact him or he didn’t contact me directly. This was said to the DG ISI or the head of intelligence of Pakistan who then conveyed this to me on telephone. So it’s a direct contact but this is what I was told by the DG ISI.

Q: Prior to that you’ve been told by Colin Powel you saying in the book, you’re with us. This was continuation of that conversation?

President: Colin Powel rang me up. He was the first person to contact me and he said on terrorism and I didn’t hesitate to say that we are with you on the issue of terrorism. There is no doubt in my mind particularly our interest and we would be the victim of terrorism.

Q: The US denies that the language was that harsh. But you are saying that this is exactly how it was said?

President: Of course, he didn’t speak directly to me. This is what the DG ISI told me. That’s the reality, whatever I’ve mentioned is the fact.

Q: President Welcome. Thank you for being with us. I will come to the more compelling and scary part of your book. You discussed multiple assassination attempts on your life. Tell us the story?

President: Yes, there was an opening and there was an island in between the dividers of the road. Where a person could take a U-turn and there was a petrol pump on the right. And when my car exactly came to that point of that opening, there was one vehicle coming from the opposite direction trying to get into our lane. Right at that moment there was an explosion. A Big explosion and everything came on the car and there was all and darkness and flying objects and the driver put his foot on the brake, reflexibly and then I told him to move ahead. I took test to myself. Because I knew something is happening. When I told him to press on, press on, and in another second we reached a hundred yard, hundred meters away actually. Next petrol pump on the right, there was a vehicle and it exploded and everything came directly on the car and that was the time when really the tires went off and we went on the rims and reached home.

Q: Why do you think there are these multiple episodes of assassination for you and what would Pakistan be like if you were out of the picture?

President: Why did with me. Obviously I’m standing in their way and I’m standing in their way for Pakistan basically and for the region and for the world because I think that we are very very clear that that is not the way like Pakistan would progress and move forward.

Q: Is that part of your life facing because of your alliance with the US and what if some of the other ramifications of your alliance with our country?

President: The problem is that at the government level we are doing very well. But the people certainly it will take time to normalize in the minds of the people the same feeling for US. The people of Pakistan are certainly for fighting terrorism. But they somehow are not in favour or they are not happy shall I say with the relationship with US. But I think gradually they understand that it is necessary and it is in the benefit of both. There is no doubt in my mind and they understand that now, although the people may not be liking the US that much.

Q: You recently said it’s been reported to me that the tribal leaders in the border areas to help get rid of the area from AlQaeda and Taliban. My question how this could happen and how some of those tribal leaders kind of divide that part of Pakistan that you don’t control?

President: These tribal elders have all the influence on the people. They were leaders of the people, before these Talibans emerged. Now what we are going is through these tribal elders we are totally trying to take the people with our side. When there is an agreement that we have signed that is very significant. The bottom line that we placed: No AlQaeda activity on our side or across the border.

We must understand that what these tribes are, they have their honour code, they have their when they say something they believe in upholding that and fighting any one and opposing any one who opposing it this is their honour so lets take them on board and as it is that who is going to recognize Taliban from the non Taliban pukhtoon, they are the same people. Can the army do this, army won’t even know even it has failed, the worst scenario. So we are back to the same position as we were.

Q: So lot of news about Osama bin Laden, one news reports that he is dead, second is about controversy on the remarks of top Army spokesman that you said that he would remain free in Pakistan as long as he remains a peaceful citizen then the controversy on the remarks of President that if in fact President Bush knew that he is in Pakistan, he would go in Pakistan and catch him?

President: Firstly whether he is dead, no comments on it, I do not know about it and I checked up with my people that whoever has said this I do not substantiate with it, second that has been misquoted, I know who has been misquoted and here was an apology on this that this was a total misquote, he never said anything like that. The third element we are hunting OBL and Zawahri together with United States and Pakistan forces now when we get him all I have say we have to get him.

Q: President Bush said that he would take action inside Pakistan appear on television showing OBL is in country would you prevent United States from doing such an thing. Would you not want the US to take action inside your country?

President: We have decided that we Pakistan forces will operate on our side of border and US and allied forces on Afghan side of the border that is the agreement and as I said when Osama’s information come up we will see how to deal with it.

Q: A big thing in your book the issue of nuclear proliferation and some nuclear secrets that were given to North Korea, Iran & Libya by A Q Khan you ended up with pardoning him why would you consider pardoning in gravity of situation where important information like that there are lot of other things would pass on to the people who are hostile?

President: Unfortunately one should look at what it would have meant domestically on many things the international pull is in one direction and the domestic pull is exactly in opposite direction. So my job in the past has been going somewhere in the centre tight rope crossing and I am an expert in that, this man is the hero to the man in the street, he knows that he is a hero, even now he is a hero, he provided the nuclear weapon and ensured the security against the threat that we have, threat to our existence so he is known as the father of atom bomb of Pakistan so to the man in the street he is still a hero, how can you do to such a man without creating problems for Pakistan, for stability , for ourselves , for government , therefore we have to take away a very balanced action while we removed him from the place even before this was revealed to me and I removed him from the job I had removed him about eight months before I was told because I suspected something happening and therefore I removed him and he was under house arrest.

Q: You have on growing vocal anti American an sentiment that is there? How you explain our audience two things explain the announcing act for you treading the needle four years ago and the President use the term Islamic fascist is that the accurate term that we are using for the enemy we are facing?

President: No there is no doubt that the people of Pakistan are very disturbed over whatever is happening in the Islamic world and when we open fronts like Lebanon it further exaggerate the situation and weakens all the moderates in the Muslim world that includes in this kind of thing. Because Muslims are already feel alienated they already feeling that they are under attack and then when we or I should say that when we use the word Islamic with whatever happening Islamic terrorism. Now Islam doesn’t believe in terrorism, it hurts peoples sentiments you can call terrorism has no religion, there are terrorist in Sri Lanka we calling them Tamil terrorist are we calling them Hindu terrorist they are Hindu. Lets not attach religion to it lets call them terrorist and whenever we attach religion to it people would not accept these, like if we take Pakistani bomb it will take Islamic bomb, people don’t like it, I mean why is not India’s bomb Hindu bomb, why is not Israeli bomb as Jews bomb, why is that only Pakistan’s bomb is Islamic bomb? So these are thing, which people don’t like.

Q: Would you advice President Bush not to use this term?

President: Well he is a friend of mine I am sure he understands these sensitivities.

Leave a Reply

Categories

